James Fenimore Cooper (1789-1851)

The Bravo: A Venetian Story

The Spy: A Tale of the Neutral Ground

Notions of the Americans (1828)

The Precaution (a novel set in England) (1820)

The Heidenmauer: or, The Benedictines, A Legend of the Rhine (novel, German Rhineland, 16th century) (1832)

A Letter to his Countrymen (1834)

The American Democrat: or Hints on the Social and Civic Relations of the United States of America (non-fiction US society and government) (1838)

The Chronicles of Cooperstown (1838)

Supporting Material on the life of James Fenimore Cooper

James Fenimore Cooper and the Society of the Cincinnati by Pat Ruckert (originally published in EIR Magazine, Oct. 26, 2007

James F. Cooper: The Real Story (2013 class by Patrick Ruckert)