Miguel de Cervantes (1547-1616)

Galatea: A Pastoral Romance (1585)

Don Quijote de la Mancha (1605) in English

Don Quijote de la Mancha (en espagnole)

Exemplary Novels of Very Honest Entertainment

Between 1590 and 1612 Cervantes wrote some short novels that were unified and published in 1613 under the name “Novelas Ejemplares de Honestísimo Entretenimiento” (Exemplary Novels of very honest Entertainment). The stories show the social, political, and historical problems of Cervantes‘ Spain and show off his immersion in Spain’s life and how aware he was of the prevailing problems. The stories included in the book are:

  1. La Gitanilla (The Gypsy Girl)
  2. El Amante Liberal (The Generous Lover)
  3. Rinconete y Cortadillo (Rinconete & Cortadillo)
  4. La Española Inglesa (The English Spanish Lady)
  5. El Licenciado Vidriera (The Lawyer of Glass)
  6. La Fuerza de la Sangre (The Power of Blood)
  7. El Celoso Extremeño (The Jealous Man From Extremadura)
  8. La Ilustre Fregona (The Illustrious Kitchen-Maid)
  9. Novela de las Dos Doncellas (The Novel of the Two Damsels)
  10. Novela de la Señora Cornelia (The Novel of Lady Cornelia)
  11. Novela del Casamiento Engañoso (The Novel of the Deceitful Marriage)
  12. El Coloquio de los Perros (The Dialogue of the Dogs)

Supplementary Reading

On the Joy of Reading Cervantes’ Don Quixote by Carlos Wesley (Fidelio Fall 2003)